Soul Curry: Cheers to life! (1)

God morning friends.  Cheers to life!  That was said by many.  In our life, we should always think what’s the best to have a good joy.  Life can be the best as we want it to be.  Life is hard, I admit that.  But we have to struggle in all way and in the end you will get the best in what you do.  There is this article a read that will help you to have a good soul a good spirit.  Let me share it with you.

An illness can help you turn your life around, a friend teaches Renica Rego.

In May of 2006, my best friend, Angel was diagnosed with cardiomyopathy, a serious heart condition. She was 38. That was the first time I had even heard the word.

She was undergoing treatment for pneumonia at the time, when the radiologist had raised an alarm and sent her to a cardiologist. Within an hour, she was in hospital and our carefree, happy little world came crumbling down like a house of cards.

The bony woman lying helplessly in that sterile hospital room with strange machines blinking around her wasn’t my Angel at all. Even in my dazed state, I remember wondering how it was at all possible that a well-built woman like Angel could shrink to half her size within a day of being in hospital. It was absurd, insane.

The next few days are blurred in my memory. But I do remember fuming at people who even so much as vaguely doubted that Angel would survive. When one of them called a priest to her bedside, I almost lost it. But secretly, I was terrified inside, wondering whether she would survive and if she did, how she would cope with her illness. The Times of India

timeslife@timesgroup.com

(Soul Curry is a column where we invite our readers to share their soul-stirring experiences)

 

 

14 Responses to “Soul Curry: Cheers to life! (1)”

  1. aayushishukla

    I make it a point to go through the coloumn daily n i look forward to reading it!!!!

  2. sailee

    ITs blessed to have grandpa and grandma .the year 2008 was most remarkable as i spend the whole year wit my grandpa and my grandma . we were like threesome to each other . it was my 12th standard and important year , so i was staying with my grandpa . he always encouraged me to do the best and i loved the food that was prepared by my grandma . my grandpa was tall , handsome , strict , m whole hearted ., he use to crack jokes on grandma ……..,(she use to hate it ) . very , very disiplined…..,… staying with them was gr8 . he never asked me that what i am doin g ? or where i am going ? but always kept watch with the stuff i was doing . he was a man with the policy of ” eat less and live more ” . i have seen all my hollywood movies with my grandpa . i knows gujarathi , marathi , sanskrit and english, hindi very well . when i was free with my stuff we both use to chat for long time ..we all grandchildrens use to cal him “ABA” . things were going great untill ………………, it was 7th march 09 morning i and my small brother sajil went to meet him . we visited the temple and returned home . in the evening the there was a news ……….. aba meet with an accident ……, i thought it could be the normal once . next day my father called me up saying dat , u need to com at abas place . i came and i saw every1 crying . it was my grandpas dead body lying in front of me ,. i couldnt cry …, i was in the state of shock . after 3 months i got my result of scoring 80% . i wanted to thank my grandpa but he wasnt alive . i was completly blank at that time …, because of my grandpa (aba). , i could score this much . i lost my good friend . i was angry with god for his cruel behavier but then my mom consoled me that , whatever happens happens for good , what if my grandpa hav lost legs or forgotten his memory ?? it would be difficult for us to bear it . i just have learn only one thing from this ., do your best in life , as you get only one life to live and the achievements or succes that we get is only because of our elders blessings

  3. nirmala

    i think grandparents bring the best in us and we take them for granted often till too late .. kudos all grandparents who teach the young valuable lessons

  4. sudha madhuri

    BREAKING BREAD BEYOND BOUNDARIES

    Married to a foot soldier for the last eleven years, i have seen most of the wild countryside of our country which others would just dream off.It was winter and he was posted at a far flung desolate place.where one rarely caught the sight of humans other than olive greens.On one of my daily evening walks i lost my way.Trying to get back on the goat trail seemed an impossible task.Exhausted i sat down on a large rock,feeling scared i looked at the red glow of the setting sun.All kinds of stories told by officers around friendly bonfires came to my mind.Being an avid reader of Jim Corbett man eating leopards,mountain lions and hungry bears were the first things that came to my mind.Instead of sitting down i decided to walk up hill.My first attempt after awhile was a failure,breathless i clung to a tree.Suddenly i heard a noise as if some animal was coming towards me through the
    thicket of fir saplings .My heart was in my mouth,i picked up a big stone and got ready to defend myself.The bushes parted to reveal a small hill boy,he signaled me to follow him,following a goat trail he took me to village all of three houses.A tall bearded man came out of one of the dhoks ,i could follow none of what was being said ,by now i had attracted a small group of children who stood around me and chattered excitedly.I tried to tell them i was lost and belonged to the fauji camp,a kindly looking lady took my hand and took me inside ,the sun had set it was getting cold, she thrust a tall brass glass into my shivering hands as i sipped the warm milk she broke a piece of rough bread from her plate and gave me.I was feeling scared as i did not know how far i had strayed or where i was,warnings my husband had earlier issued came to my mind .The old lady smiled at me and asked me to follow her, we again took the goat trail but this we went downhill my guides consisting of the old lady and another sturdy hill man assisted me in the dark i could see nothing ahead of me and often stumbled.The whole journey took over an hour,twice i was pushed down to the ground ,the old lady signaled to me to be quiet.At last i saw the twinkling lights of the army camp,familiar shapes warmed my frightened heart ,i hurried my steps towards the familiar gate .I turned around to thank my guides but they were gone .Later when everyones anger and worry had subsided, we all realised that all was not lost, human love,and its bonding were still going strong.They had put there lives at stake to bring me safely home ,shared their warmth with me to establish faith and friendship. ALL barriers and boundaries were broken for me in that small hour sharing .

    • sudha madhuri

      very nicely written . loved it and would like to read more .from your daughter rishika

    • sudha madhuri

      very nicely written . loved it and would like to read more .from your rishika.

      • dhirendra08

        Thanks for nice words.

      • saloni

        well written…i love to read dese type of articles

  5. Deepa

    Really very nicely written.
    It is very inspiring and interesting.

  6. smarika

    Nice thought, very well expressed

  7. Rishabh

    Very nyc story…
    liked it..

  8. Rishabh

    Really loved it…

  9. Nandita

    i think this real life experiences that you provide us with feeels so common and to be a part of the society by knwing unknowns thanku as i really loved it…

  10. Nandita

    WHEN LOVE HURTS TILL DEATH BUT U CAN NOT DIE………

    This comes from an intresting line i had read somewhere : ” I LOVE THIS WORLD SO MUCH THAT I HATE IT BECOZ HERE I FIND U”…

    See these love matters start when u gain a age in your they are not with you from your childhood so as it happened with me in my teenage how can someone start loving such a person whom she you have not seen or talked strange but it happened he was not a superstar but a classmate of mine i was studying in my 11th grade when i saw him for the first time and my god i felt something really special i think i m in love this was the guy about whom my best friend had told me and i have started him liking like mads after one and a half year of terriblefights and no friendships when he proposed to me that day i was a rel happy person thought that i have got everything in my life he was so good but attitudal since i liked him i just had loved him nothing else days passed very happily but its phases of life and soon it got passed away my happinesss was gone our parents were not ready for us both but when my father asked like other teenage gals i didnt went behind and told them the entire truth and the truth was i love him yes i do but they wre not ready becoz we were just 18 and this is not the tym for us we both seperated sent to two diffrent cities far very far from each other our contacts were broke and i lost him now since i feel like killing y self i cant becoz i promised him as ” I LOVED THIS WORLD SO MUCH SO MUCH THAT I HATE LEAVING IT AS I LOVE YOU SO MUCH AND THIS IS FOR YOU”……………………

Leave a comment